BeforeTheRainThe roots of [Before The Rain] go back to 1997, when vocalist Carlos D’Água and guitar player Valter Cunha started sharing musical ideas that eventually ended up as acoustic songs. As time went by, those simple and organic sounds weren’t enough to express the emotions and feelings unleashed by the duo and, in 1998, both decided to seek musicians to complete the band.

In December 2001, after solidifying their first real line-up, their first two songs – «Be Mine» and «You… My Ruin» – were recorded. Entitled «…And With The Day Dying Light» this demo-CD was only released to a strict sum of close friends and never properly distributed. In August 2003 the recording of a new song, called «The Swansong», showed another sign of life. Unfortunately around that session the group also went through a ton of changes.

A year later – with the help of Pedro Daniel on bass, Hugo Santos on guitar and Gonçalo Correia on drums – [Before The Rain] establishes their strongest line-up to date. Following a mini-tour with Irish doomsters Mourning Beloveth in Portugal, the five musicians finally find the spark needed to pick up the composition process again and the debut full-length album finally starts taking shape. Recorded by João Bacelar and mastered at the Cutting Room Studios, in Sweden, by Thomas Eberger (famous for his work with bands like Katatonia, Opeth and Daylight Dies), this collection of six songs promise, not only to embrace the listener gently with evocative melodies, but also to punish with monolithic riffs and mesmerizing feedbacks. Both crushing and incredibly emotional, «One Day Less» is an amazing sonic journey through highs and lows – combining the beautiful acoustic textures of their beginnings with a heavy sensibility firmly rooted in the doom/death metal realm.

On February 2007, the band joins the roster of Major Label Industries, released «…One Day Less» on July of the same year. Short after, the band’s line-up went through minor changes with Carlos Monteiro and Joaquim Aires stepping in to guitar and drums respectively. Later, Carlos D’Água was replaced by Gary Griffith (ex-Morgion). With this revamped line-ip, the band worked on new material, namely a full-length album called «Frail» (released by Avantgarde Music in 2011) and a split 7” vinyl with Shape Of Despair (also out on Avantgarde Music in 2011).

At this point, Before The Rain is in a dormant state, with bassist Pedro Daniel recently announcing the departure of the band and Valter Cunha currently playing with Belgian’s Pantheist.

Facebook page